Party or Die! – College & Career EP
Score: 3/5Score: 3/5Score: 3/5Score: 3/5Score: 3/53
4.0 (1 votes)

Artist: Party or Die!

Album: College & Career EP

Label: Future Destination Records

Release Date: September 13, 2010

Reviewer: Eric Pettersson


1. I Think I See Somebody
2. Greg’s Had A Hard Life
3. Special Delivery by Uncle Dan the Man
4. Middler (Sound of Shofar)
5. K-Mart Makes Me Physically Ill

Hailing from Huntington, West Virginia, this Future Destination three-piece craft catchy pop rock tunes that are full of feeling and layered guitars, reminiscent of The Juliana Theory or Slow Coming Day. The opening track, “I Think I See Somebody,” deserves to be on your next mixtape with a chorus big enough to destroy a skyscraper. The somewhat dark tone continues throughout the EP, with slightly distorted guitars and impressive voice quality on the lead. The little disc closes with “K-Mart Makes Me Physically Ill,” which besides the hilarious title is also a pretty good song. It builds into a long, chanted gang vocal that reminds this reviewer of a certain epic track from Thrice.

Overall: Without sounding out-dated, Party or Die! bring back everything we loved about 2003. Vocals that are strong yet trembling, songs that are catchy yet musically complex: it’s all here, updated for 2010.

Party or Die! - College & Career EP, 4.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating

Click here to list all the current reviews by Eric Pettersson

About the author Eric Pettersson

Eric Pettersson is from Reading, PA and a graduate of La Salle University in Philadelphia with degrees in Communication and Religion. He wrote regularly for IVM 2005-2011. Now he has his own website, Explore Reading, "a progressive guide to the city of Reading, Pennsylvania. Follow him at View all posts by Eric Pettersson

6 Responses to 'Party or Die! – College & Career EP'

  1. oceanside says:

    This is a great EP and very original. I love old emo and this hits it right on the head.

  2. Thanks oceanside. How did you hear about Party or Die!/where are you from?

    • oceanside says:

      I ran across your music when I was searching for an artist on Itunes. I listened to some clips and then cheked out yours songs on myspace. I live in St. Louis.

  3. Sam says:

    Hmmm, maybe I’m just confused because I’m weird, but is this a new EP or a re-release of an old one?

  4. This is a new EP but it came out in September.

  5. Sam says:

    Cool, The record sounds interesting, I’m gonna have to pick it up next time I’m buying new music.

Comments closed.



Show some love and help us to survive!
Get your IVM clothing now!


IVM on BANDCAMPIVM on FacebookIVM on TwitterIVM YouTube ChannelIVM on LastFMIVM on Google+




  • What IVM Merch Item Would You Want the Most in Our "Summer Line"?

    View Results

    Loading ... Loading ...
  • Polls Archive