Nevertheless – In The Making…

By Tyler H on September-25-2008 | Filed under How To Write A Dissertation Or Masters Thesis.

Nevertheless – In The Making…
4.0 (3 votes)

Artist: Nevertheless

Album: Spark

Label: Flicker Records

Release Date: September 16th, 2008

Review by: Tyler Hess

  1. Sleeping In
  2. It’s True
  3. Cross My Heart
  4. It’s No Secret
  5. Rest
  6. I Needed This
  7. Longshot
  8. Augustine
  9. Topics
  10. When I’m Alone
  11. I Found My Way Back Again

Quite frankly, if you are into pop rock and do not appreciate Nevertheless’ new album, In The Making…, I am just not buying your excuses.  I have heard that their lyrics are devoid of hope, I have heard that they are generic, I have heard that they are slower than their previous effort, “Live Like We’re Alive”, and that there is too much piano.  I am making a stand in my first review for IVM, declaring that Nevertheless has improved, Joshua’s vocals have matured and that they are defining their sound.  Nevertheless addresses real issues that many younger people can relate to, not just high school and middle schoolers, but the college and young adults as well.  I will make only one concession, which is that the vocals do sound a bit too much like Matthew Thiessen’s of Relient K, reminding me a bit of the slower songs on “MMHMM”.

Starting off “with Sleeping In”, Nevertheless bring me back not that long ago, when it seemed so difficult to start a day, not wanting to face the day’s problems, but hoping that there is some way that there is a better way.  The album as a whole has similar themes, ones of not having the strength to do things on our own, realizing that we need God in our lives to face life with courage and strength.

“Longshot” is probably the one that people are going to be pointing to as the love/hate song of the album, one that sounds like it was made to be a single, one that says “here’s a song everyone can sing along too, hooray!”  It is catchy, it is fun, it probably doesn’t break any originality scales even for the youngsters, but I have never had a problem with fun.

More than any other song, I want to point everyone to a song that if it doesn’t touch your heart, then it truly saddens me.  Bands often spend much of their time talking to kids that don’t feel like they have anyone they can talk to, but for some reason they can open up to musicians to whom they feel they can relate.  “Topics” addresses the ones who have those kids in their lives, yet cause them for one reason or another to not be able to open up, perhaps because we suppress them from doing so.  It is a beautiful, heartfelt song that brings reality into our lives, making us think a little deeper about what is going on and how we can make a difference in people’s lives for the better.

For those who are fans of album art, those who have to get the CD just for the insert if nothing else, this one is quite simple, having the typical band photos, with a simple but pleasurable layout that matches well with their music and readable lyrics with the chorus in bold.  One thing I did notice, being the bitter failure of a spelling bee contestant that I am, there are some misprints on the lyrics that just don’t match up correctly, which I can’t believe still happens regularly.  It really shouldn’t be so hard for someone to do a once through before printing these things.

As a whole, the album can blend together a bit, but has so many good songs to choose from, that I have had a hard time listening to anything else the past week, not wanting to put this one down.

So there you have it, my first IVM review, please discuss.  Brandon asked me to do ratings to keep with the format, it isn’t really my thing, I would rather you talk about the album, but it is up to you.  Thanks guys.

9/10 Grapes Of Wrath Essay.

University Assignment Help.

Admission University.

Nevertheless - In The Making..., 4.0 out of 5 based on 3 ratings Research Paper Writers Reviews.

11 Responses to 'Nevertheless – In The Making…'

  1. vishneda says:

    Thanks for the informative review. I prefer the explanation rather than the scoring as well. Every decent album is built from several shades of grey, you did a good job explaining what those shades are. That elevated my interest enough to hit the band’s site and listen to the clips.

  2. Good Conclusions For Essays check. says:

    I haven’t heard the CD yet, but from seeing them live about a month back, I agree with most of what you said. It’s amazing how much the lyrics sound like RK, but I do think the songs are overall pretty solid. I don’t think I’d think it’s 9/10 material, but what I’ve heard was promising.

  3. This makes me want to go out and buy it. Eventually my friend, eventually.

  4. Colt says:

    Good review tyler!

    I liked it. I’ll probly swing back by their and give it a few more listens before I think about buying it though…

  5. bradley says:

    good review and i like the scoring system because sometimes its hard to gauge how someone feels about an album unless you talk to them. it is easy to mis interpret things like this and the score reflects how the reviewer felt about the album

  6. bradley says:

    good review and i like the scoring system because sometimes its hard to gauge how someone feels about an album unless you talk to them. it is easy to mis interpret things like this and the score reflects how the reviewer felt about the album

  7. thanks for the feedback guys. The problem I have with the scoring is that it is only how I feel about the album, but I think that you guys (if you like this kinda music) would think of it as more of a 7 or 8, but personally I have just loved the stuff, so how can I lie just to make you feel better about your musical superiority? I just can’t, I stand by more score, because I loved it. I also forgot to put the album cover at top, then my internet went down last night, I’ll try to fix that asap.

  8. I am definitely looking forward to more music from these guys in the future. I’ve enjoyed their music so far and would encourage all other pop/rock fans to check them out.

  9. Luke says:

    An excellent album! With so many bands sounding the same it is nice to have something that sounds a little different. I actually caught myself singing a few songs at work =)

    I think Josh’s vocals and the new sound is similar to Jack’s Mannequin; without the language….and I love that style.

  10. Ryan Y says:

    Anesthesiologists everwhere should be concerned about their job status because this album is more than capable of putting someone to sleep.

  11. um. zing?
    Anesthesiologists don’t put people to sleep, they knock people out. If it were just sleep, they’d wake up when that drill went into their forehead.

Comments closed.