Album Review :
City of Snow - True Reason

By in Reviews | Comments closed

Artist: City of Snow

Album: True Reason

Label: None

Release Date: April 16, 2011

Reviewer: Eric Pettersson


  1. Intro/ Man Down
  2. Monarchs
  3. Red Brick Road
  4. The Collector
  5. The Heart I Know You Have
  6. Never Ends

With these six songs, City of Snow introduce a strong but melodic blend of modern rock. The band has the musical technicality and a similar vocal range as Stavesacre, but they don’t rock quite as heavy, instead leaning more in the direction of modern day Rise Against or Anberlin. The guitars bring in enough tricks to keep things interesting, which is good because in general the lyrics and song structures are pretty straightforward. “Man Down” packs an energetic punch, while “The Heart I Know You Have” has one powerful melody on the chorus. On the bridge of “Never Ends,” you’ll hear vocals from what sounds like an almost spot-on impersonation of Five Iron Frenzy’s Dennis Culp, only adding to my thought that these guys probably listen to some ska in their free time. Lyrics tend to focus on pushing forward through difficult situations and keeping faith in God.

Overall: City of Snow offer smart guitar work in this modern rock EP full of songs with a positive and hopeful message.