Kye Kye- Fantasize

By Ian Zandi on April-1-2014 | Filed under Dissertation Proposal Service Verb Tense.

Kye Kye- Fantasize
Score: 5/5Score: 5/5Score: 5/5Score: 5/5Score: 5/55
4.8 (8 votes)

Artist: Best Buy Resume App Update.
Title: Fantasize
Label: Independent
Release Date: 1/21/14
Reviewer: Ian Zandi


  1. I Already See It
  2. Honest Affection
  3. People
  4. Glass
  5. Scared or Selfish
  6. Dreams (2am)
  7. Fantasize
  8. Seasons
  9. Softly
  10. Her
  11. Hiding Place
  12. Celeste

Appealing to the ever-so-growing field of indie electronic pop artists, Kye Kye recently put out an excellent sophomore album by the name of Fantasize. The band borrows some New Wave elements while incorporating sounds from contemporaries such as Coldplay, Death Cab for Cutie and M83. Opening up for Gungor in recent months has also opened up their audience to the Christian market and given us a new taste of worship. While the Christian market is filled to the brim with Chris Tomlin and Newsboys cookie-cutter bands, Kye Kye brings something new and original to the table. Though worship taste can surely differ from one individual to another (that’s the beauty of it all), I feel that this band is truly exercising their gifts and spiritual creativity.

From the aptly titled opening track, “I Already See It”, you get a feel of what is to come. Rising synths open the floodgates for Olga’s mystical vocals. The song becomes a bit meta with the lyrics “It doesn’t come all at once/See for yourself where it goes”. These words ring true as the wispy sounds are not immediately accessible. This is the kind of record that requires the listener to participate in. If you reach out and grasp the enchanting hooks and heavy beats, you will be submerged into the beauty of it all.

For obvious reasons, singles are often the most “normal” tracks that can appeal to the greatest audience possible. The 2 songs that we were first given of Fantasize were “Dreams (2am)” and “Honest Affection”. They are both dark and whimsical, relying on topics that cannot be fathomed, and vocal trickery that forms an atmosphere akin to those of Florence and the Machine’s slower songs. Like most of the songs on the album, these songs are built around chanting the deepest lyrics. Though the album could suffer from having every song “feel” the same, the variant lyrics and hooks allow this to be overlooked.

In my opinion, this is a very introspective album. Tracks such as “Glass” and “Scared or Selfish” are incredibly poetic and pure. While “Glass” makes us ponder whether we are really pure or just cloak ourselves in it, the latter track gives us time to take a perspective to see the situation in a different light. The minimalist lyrics provide a focused and direct approach to the topic. “Scared or Selfish” is a tune that is longing for a greater comfort. It is, by far, my favorite track.

Gone, with my pride. Scared I’ll never know who you are
but I’ll try to realize what you’ve said. And I’ll try to erase my fear

Scared or selfish who are you?

Blame myself for what I use
I want to have you
I want to have you whole

Slip, as I think. Become everything that I speak
so I’ll try to recreate what you see. And I’ll try to embrace this whole

The album reaches resolution to these troubles as the lyrics of hope and longing, turn into those of peace. The final track “Celeste” bids an instrumental farewell to the calamities that came before it. You can feel the music swaying throughout your eardrums. It is quite wondrous when a song can make you feel something with its textures. Appropriately, “Celeste” derives from the Latin form of “heavenly”. That is the perfect word to describe this album. Heavenly.­

Overall: If you have not jumped on the Kye Kye bandwagon, then grab your coat and get started. It’s a chilling experience like no other. It’s definitely an album of the year contender in my books. Has potential for intimate times of worship or expanding your musical horizons. This album may not stick at first (it didn’t for me), but it is worth it once it does.

RIYL: Miss Angie, Gungor, M83, Chvrches, Lorde, Coldplay, Josh Garrels

Kye Kye- Fantasize, 4.8 out of 5 based on 8 ratings

Growing As A Writer Essay.

About the author Ian Zandi

Ian Zandi is a 21 year old human man-child that resides in Los Angeles, CA with his wife. In his spare time, enjoys long woks on the beach as well as in the kitchen. Ian is a cook, comedian (comedy-Ian), Eagle Scout (no relation to Scout from To Kill A Mockingbird), writer, and a night-owl. Ian also likes referring to himself in the third person much like his alter-ego Elmo. View all posts by Ian Zandi

15 Responses to 'Kye Kye- Fantasize'

  1. Lucas says:

    Awesome review Ian. This made me want to go back and give it another good listen. It’s a beautiful record for sure, but I’m not sure I gave it the time to grow on me to where I was absolutely blown away. It’s slower and definitely takes some getting into.

  2. Derek O. says:

    Love love love love love love love love. The review score is too low. Should be IVM’s first 6 out of 5.

  3. Yorik Bruhl says:


  4. Fantastic album. One of my favorites this year

  5. Anthony says:

    Great album. Definitely my favorite Christian-related album of the year so far.

  6. Dissertation Library Based. says:

    Fantasize is a flawless album, beautifully crafted with meaningful music and lyrics. This is likely to remain at the top of heap as my favourite album of 2014.

  7. Christian says:

    Amaziing. I just wish I understood what she was sayin

  8. Lucas says:

    New video for “Scared or Selfish”. Fantastic.
    Essay Order Importance.

  9. Lucas says:

    So after months of listening and growing this album is definitely an AotY contender for me right now. I’m jamming Kye Kye like nobody’s business lately. “Fantasize” is absolutely fantastic and how I didn’t manage to get into “Young Love”–and subsequently be blown away–until two weeks ago is beyond me. I actually may love it more than “Fantasize”. Even if it’s not on the same level sonically or musically, it’s been a huge comfort to me lately.

    • I really like Fantasize, and I agree with you on it’s potential to be AOTY. I am a little bummed about the lyrical content though. Young Love had some awesome lyrical themes. Fantasize is pretty bland in the lyric department. Almost zero spiritual content and it’s pretty repetitive.

      The music is so stinking good though.

    • Lucas says:

      I think Fantasize has a lot more spiritual content than it lets on to. Lines like “My heart was always made to be still, to wait because You promised You’d save it” and “With the mind that knows the one narrow road / What you said is right, I’ll never walk away” both come to mind. The band themselves have alluded to the album being about spiritual growth and the renewing of one’s mind. It’s just not spelled out as much.

  10. Kelli Ann Jones says:

    I like Fantasize but I absolutely love Young Love. There is an original layered sound that is hauntingly beautiful. The lyrics blow my mind and I love the fact that they are wide open to interpretation. I feel that popular music on the radio wants to tell you what to think and how to feel. What sets Kye Kye apart is that every song sets the stage and you fill in the story.

  11. John says:

    I didn’t get into this album until probably August or September, but it still ended up on my top 10 albums of the year (#10). Such a beautiful album, haunting melodies that perfectly compliment Olga’s vocals. And it makes that much more sense that I love it when I found out that Chad Howat (Paper Route) produced it – a lot of similar elements to Paper Route’s “The Peace of Wild Things” which was my album of the year for 2012.

Comments closed.