Album Review :
Fireflight - Unbreakable

By in Reviews | Comments closed

Band: Fireflight
Album: Unbreakable
Label: Sony BMG/Flicker
Review by: Tyler Hess

Having seen their show for the third time a couple days ago, it came to my attention that IVM had yet to take a closer look at the band’s second full length release. The first thing that I’d like to point out is that I hadn’t listened to the album in probably two or three months, yet on the morning of the show I mysteriously woke up and remembered the words to several of their songs, so if nothing else, these songs are certainly memorable, which is something I can’t say for probably half the albums I’ve reviewed on here.

One of the hardest things to overcome on Fireflight’s brand of what I consider to be radio friendly rock music is that it is really difficult to not have every song run right into one another. If you listen to any similar band, like Skillet or High Flight Society, it is very difficult to distinguish (musically, at least, though lyrics help) one song from another. For the most part, this album does little to break from that mold, but there are enough standout tracks to help. There are two things that Fireflight do really well. The first, is that they are great at writing anthemic rock songs filled with hope and promise that they find in our God. Second, and I will always contend this, whenever Dawn’s vocals are matched up with a male counterpart they are golden. This was not only true on “You Decide” from their first full length, “The Healing of Harms”, but is true on here as well with “Stand Up” and “The Love We Had Before”. They also do a little bit of variation with a couple of acoustic songs in “Forever” and “Wrapped In Your Arms”, but Dawns vocals don’t vary a whole lot, usually either a whisper or all out in your face rock vocals. When they hit on something, they can be great. When they miss, they are okay but a bit forgettable. There are enough good songs on this album to make rock fans happy, but enough songs that are a bit too easy to not have room for improvement.

Songs to Start with: “Unbreakable” and “Stand Up”

Track Listing:

  1. Unbreakable
  2. You Gave Me A Promise
  3. Brand New Day
  4. The Hunger
  5. Stand Up
  6. Forever
  7. Go Ahead
  8. The Love We Had Before
  9. So Help Me God
  10. Wrapped In Your Arms