Album Review :
Fair - Disappearing World

By in Reviews | Comments closed

Band: Fair
Title: Disappearing World
Label: Tooth & Nail Records
Release Date: 2/9/10


  1. Disappearing World
  2. Wayside
  3. Walking In My Sleep
  4. One Last Time
  5. Take Some Risks
  6. The Escape Artist
  7. It’s Doubtful
  8. The Worst of Your Wear
  9. Great Divide
  10. Anymore

Aaron Sprinkle may be a musical genius. Producer extraordinaire, Sprinkle can still maintain his own band as well, Fair. Among Sprinkle, Fair features the musical talent of Nick Barber, Joey Sanchez and Erick Newbill. Playing some catchy piano-driven indie rock, Fair brings us an album that truly lives up to it’s standards, following their 2006 debut release, The Best Worst Case Scenario.

Disappearing World opens up with the title track, also the album’s first single. A great opener, it sets the pace for the album. “Wayside” brings us the melodic indie rock, driven by some unique lyrics. The song “Walking In My Sleep” is one of my personal favorites on the album, opening up with striking pianos and Sprinkle’s smooth, catchy vocals.

Something that really catches my attention on the album are the mellow, indie sounding tracks. A great example is “Take Some Risks”, which has a harmonius string section, backing up the strongly performed vocals. Lyrically, “The Escape Artist” is an interesting song. A twist on words, the song says “Gone without a trace, take a minute to mention, everything that you that  questioned, you lost the human race, another chip on your shoulder, got a lot to get over.”

“It’s Doubtful” takes a different sound on, for more of an alternative sound to it, with honest lyrics like “If I’m happy, there’s a good chance I’m lying through my teeth, without You, it’s doubtful”. One of the album’s highlights, titled “The Worst of Your Wear”, features Aaron Marsh from Copeland. His appearance really adds a lot to the song, really making it beautiful. The song does take on a Copeland sound to it, making it something close to a musical masterpiece.

“Great Divide” has a great indie rock sound to it, featuring some great piano performed by Sprinkle, who performed the keys for the album. The album draws to a close with “Anymore”, a very simple song. It has an on-going chorus composed of “I don’t believe you anymore” and some nearly haunting pianos. It really gives the album a great close, ending on just the right note.


Fair returns with their sophomore effort titled Disappearing World. The anticipated follow up to their debut album, which released nearly four years ago, Fair does not disappoint. Excellently done lyrically and musically, Disappearing World is worth the four year wait! With a seemingly excellent job done by Aaron Sprinkle and the rest of Fair, they give us possibly one of the best albums of 2010!