Album Review :
Anberlin - Lost Songs

By in Reviews | Comments closed

Band: Anberlin
Title: Lost Songs
Label: Tooth & Nail
Release Date: 11.20.2007
Review By: JoshIVM


01. The Haunting
02. Uncanny
03. Like A Rolling Stone
04. A Day Late (Acoustic)
05. Enjoy The Silence
06. Cadence (Acoustic)
07. Downtown Song
08. There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
09. Dismantle. Repair. (Acoustic)
10. The Promise
11. Naive Orleans (Acoustic)
12. Inevitable
13. The Unwinding Cable Car (AOL Sessions)
14. Creep (AOL Sessions)
15. Baby Please Come Home
16. Ready Fuels (Demo)
17. Driving (Autobahn) (Demo)
18. Everywhere And In Between (Demo)


Stephen Christian: Vocals
Deon Rexroat: Bass
Joseph Milligan: Guitar
Nathan Young: Drums
Christian McAlhaney: Guitar

When I heard T&N was putting out an Anberlin b-sides album I just assumed they were trying to capitalize on the band’s popularity before they left for a major. Indeed they might be, but I hoped the collection would actually be worth it. B-sides albums are always a dangerous bet. Many times I find that the songs were b-sides for a reason and really aren’t worth the $15. Would this one break that trend?

First, the booklet disappointed me because the lyrics weren’t included but it is nice to have short descriptions for each song. The first track is “The Haunting”. Stephen Christian states that it is the first song he personally wrote all the way through. I’m actually surprised it didn’t make the album because it’s a strong track. I believe it would have added to Cities but it wasn’t my call. “Uncanny” is the second track and this song actually appeared on the special edition of Cities so this was kind of a waste for some of us. Next is the Bob Dylan cover which they do a good job on but isn’t one of my favorite tracks. “Enjoy The Silence” was on the Punk Goes 80’s soundtrack so I already had it but it’s a great cover. I kind of wish they had put this on Never Take Friendship Personal. I’m a huge fan of 80s music in general and good cover songs will always get me. The acoustic tracks are pretty much what you’d expect them to be. Nothing really to talk about. “Downtown Song” was also not put on Never Take Friendship Personal. This is a great song and I’m glad to have it on disc now. The Smiths cover “There Is A Light That Never Goes Out” is another cover song which I sometimes pass over. “The Promise” is one of my favorite 80s songs and they nailed it. Assuredly one of the highlights of this album! This album really amps up my hope that someday Anberlin will release a covers album like Copeland did. They always do a great job on their cover songs and choose them wisely. The last three songs were the demos that Anberlin sent to the Nail that got them signed. They’re fairly similar to what ended up on the actual records, except “Everywhere In Between” which of course didn’t make the record. The liners say that Chad Johnson didn’t want that on there because it didn’t fit. After listening to it I think he was probably right. It’s definitely the weakest of the 3 songs.

Overall Rating: Lost Songs is a pretty decent collection with more enjoyable songs than ones you skip over. If you’re a fan of Anberlin you should own this album period. If not, then they aren’t going to win you over with this release. (9/10)

Standout Tracks: “Downtown Song”, “The Promise”, “Baby Please Come Home”

Tooth & Nail

Buy: Interpunk

[addthis tool="addthis_inline_share_toolbox_bpvj"]
%d bloggers like this: