Album Review :
A Wretched Betrayal - Destroyer

By in Reviews | Comments closed

Artist: A Wretched Betrayal

Album: Destroyer

Label: Raging Storm Records

Release Date: March 10, 2011

Reviewer: Eric Pettersson


  1. Foundations
  2. Closer
  3. Voids
  4. Destroyer
  5. Cycles
  6. An Abstract
  7. Means to an End
  8. Of Heights and Mortality

Who doesn’t like some death metal early in the morning? Raging Storm Records’ recent signee, A Wretched Betrayal, pack a powerful punch for those who need a soundtrack for that breakfast bowl of nails. Their basic style is reminiscent of August Burns Red, but there’s a lot more metallic flair to these guitar riffs, and the vocals are much more consistently low, growling up comparison to IVM favorites like Becoming the Archetype or The Showdown’s Chorus of Obliteration. As the title track enters its breakdown, I can only stop typing and picture the mosh pit exploding with spin kicks and windmill fists. With real energy and power, A Wretched Betrayal has the foresight and creativity to get the crowd going without resorting to the artless use of constant double bass. That’s not to say they don’t use it regularly, but it’s smarter than, say, this drum solo.

Overall: Hailing from the great state of Wisconsin, the boys in A Wretched Betrayal are on their way to giving the phrase Milwaukee’s Best a whole new meaning. This is serious death metal for all you fans who are sick of the emo-inspired clean vocals that everyone else is using these days.