Author: Michael Mayer III

August 19, 2009

July 29, 2009

REVIEW : Hands - The Sounds of Earth

Before there was 'Creator' there was another album from Hands. It was released way back in February on a different label as a concept album. Today we revisit this release to see how the ambitious project, The Sounds of Earth, turned out.

July 22, 2009

June 24, 2009

May 29, 2009

May 21, 2009

May 19, 2009

April 27, 2009

April 14, 2009

REVIEW : Jars of Clay - Jars of Clay

Here is yet another flashback review just in time for the release of Jars of Clay's new album 'The Long Fall Back to Earth'. If you still have yet to give them a try then there's no better album to start with than this self-titled debut released way back in 1995.

March 18, 2009

REVIEW : mewithoutYou - Catch for Us the Foxes

Since new releases have been a bit slow I've decided to start writing some reviews for older releases that don't currently have one. First up is the 2004 classic album, Catch for Us the Foxes, by mewithoutYou. Their new release coming out on May 19th is highly anticipated, but if you haven't checked the band out yet this album is the place to start. Read on to see if it catches your interest!

March 4, 2009

February 20, 2009

January 27, 2009

January 21, 2009

REVIEW : House of Heroes - The End Is Not the End

Artist: House of Heroes Album: The End Is Not the End Label: Gotee Release Date: September 23, 2008 Review by: Michael Mayer III Tracklisting:
  1. Intro
  2. If
  3. Lose Control
  4. Leave You Now
  5. Dangerous
  6. In the Valley of the Dying Sun
  7. Code Name: Raven
  8. By Your Side
  9. Journey Into Space (Part One)
  10. Sooner or Later
  11. Baby’s a Red
  12. Drown
  13. Faces
  14. Voices
  15. Field of Daggers
Sometimes a song that’s as addicting as your favorite food comes along and floors you. For me, that’s garlic bread, and even if I thought I wasn’t hungry, just smelling it or hearing the name (or writing about it, ugh) will get my stomach growling.… Continued →

December 4, 2008

REVIEW : The Listening - Transmission 1

Artist: The Listening Album: Transmission 1 Label: Indie Release Date: October 28, 2008 Review by: Michael Mayer III Tracklisting:
  1. The End
  2. When
  3. Prayer in the Dark
  4. Fight With You
It’s tough for me to review EP’s since I usually never buy them for their lack of substance. However, when one of my favorite bands hasn’t released any new material in close to 4 years I tend to get giddy with excitement and make exceptions… and it was a wise choice. Yeah, it’s only 4 songs, but they combine for a solid 20 minutes of music that I can’t get enough of.… Continued →

November 18, 2008

REVIEW : Haste the Day - Dreamer

Artist: Haste the Day Album: Dreamer Label: Solid State Release Date: October 14, 2008 Review by: Michael Mayer III Tracklisting:
  1. 68
  2. Mad Man
  3. Haunting
  4. Resolve
  5. An Adult Tree
  6. Babylon
  7. Invoke Reform
  8. Sons of the Fallen Nation
  9. Labyrinth
  10. Porcelain
  11. Autumn
Every now and then an album comes along that is so surprisingly addictive you just don’t know what to do. That moment came for me with Dreamer from Haste the Day. I really wasn’t expecting much since I didn’t own any of their earlier work, mainly because it didn’t strike me as unique enough to stand out.… Continued →

October 30, 2008

REVIEW : Disciple - Southern Hospitality

Artist: Disciple Album: Southern Hospitality Label: INO Records Release Date: October 21, 2008 Review by: Michael Mayer III Tracklisting:
  1. Southern Hospitality
  2. Romance Me
  3. 321
  4. Whisper So Loud
  5. Whatever Reason
  6. Phoenix Rising
  7. Liar
  8. Falling Star
  9. Right There
  10. On My Way Down
  11. Lay My Burdens
  12. Savior
Disciple have decided to tweak their sound yet again. The question is, was it for the better? Well that depends what you like best about the brand of hard rock they bring to the table. In their self-titled release (and major label debut), they had a very commercial sound with nearly no screaming and catchy vocal hooks over some heavy guitar riffs.… Continued →

October 10, 2008

REVIEW : DecembeRadio - Satisfied

Artist: DecembeRadio Album: Satisfied Label: Slanted Records Release Date: August 26, 2008 Review by: Michael Mayer III Tracklisting:
  1. Better Man
  2. Satisfy Me
  3. Believer
  4. For Your Glory
  5. Gasoline
  6. Falling for You
  7. Look for Me
  8. Love Can
  9. Peace of Mind
  10. Be Alright
  11. Powerful Thing
  12. Find You Waiting
As I opened this CD and popped the disc in I remembered that about 50% of sophomore efforts by bands don’t stack up to the debut. Sometimes bands just try too hard to capture the sound they had and they end up releasing the same one again.… Continued →