The Glorious Unseen – Lovesick

By Josh Hamm on October-13-2012 | Filed under Help With A Personal Statement.

The Glorious Unseen – Lovesick
Score: 3/5Score: 3/5Score: 3/5Score: 3/5Score: 3/53
4.1 (7 votes)

Artist: Professional Essay Writing Service.
Title: Lovesick
Label: Essays On Drugs.
Release Date: 10/09/12
Revewier: Josh Hamm


  1. The Love of God
  2. Pour My Love On You
  3. You Have Ruined Me
  4. In This Moment
  5. Make Me A Child
  6. Brand New
  7. Harp In My Heart
  8. The More I Seek You
  9. How Could I Withhold My Heart?
  10. Can A Nation Be Changed?

It’s been three years since the last album from The Glorious Unseen, with The Hope That Lies In You released in 2009. Since then the band as it was is disbanded, and Lovesick is primarily written by front man Ben Crist, but there are also some covers, such as “Pour My Love on You,” “The More I Seek You,” and “Can a Nation Be Changed?”  On the whole, nothing seems to have changed, this is the same Glorious Unseen now as it was back then: alternative worship with an indie, atmospheric sound.

I used to find it surprising that I like The Glorious Unseen, since they don’t make the sort of music I often like. I enjoy bands with small sounds, which make the music intimate and personal, and I tend to dislike worship bands that have an arena quality sound to them.  The Glorious Unseen has a large sound, but they’re able to but what I appreciate is the marriage of that large sound with intimate, heartfelt lyrics.

“Harp In My Heart” features some great drumming, and the genuine lyrics, “I am lovesick for You/ my God, You have my heart/ there’s a harp in my heart and only You can play it.” The latter half of the song climaxes beautifully before segueing perfectly into the much slower, effects driven “The More I Seek You.” I love the personal imagery in the lyrics: “I want to sit at your feet/ drink from the cup in your hand/ lay back against you and breathe/ feel your heart beating.” There were other good songs as well, such as “In This Moment,” and the uncharacteristically short “You Have Ruined Me.” The whole album has great percussion and interesting guitars which contribute to forming a chill vibe, although moments of urgency and passion break through provide welcome respite to what would have become a stale atmosphere.

Unfortunately, while there’s nothing to dislike about the album, I didn’t find anything spectacular either. Lovesick is a good worship album, with solid song writing and production value, but it’s not progression from their previous music, it’s static. Ascend the Hill, another alternative worship band with a unique sound, released O Ransomed Son earlier this year which blew their previous releases out of the water, they kept their sound while improving it drastically. I can’t say the same about The Glorious Unseen.

Overall: This is yet another feather in the cap of The Glorious Unseen’s already impressive discography. Featuring a collection of thoughtful, ambient songs of worship which resonate with the listener, Lovesick is exactly what you’ve come to expect from them.

RIYL: Delirious, The Ember Days, Great Awakening, John Mark McMillan, Lovelite, Ascend the Hill

The Glorious Unseen - Lovesick, 4.1 out of 5 based on 7 ratings Do Critical Analysis Thesis.

About the author Josh Hamm

Josh is a writer from Vancouver, and when he’s not listening to music you can find him with a book in hand, watching a movie, or putting pen to paper. He spends far too much time on the large things that matter little, rather than the little things that matter largely. View all posts by Josh Hamm

9 Responses to 'The Glorious Unseen – Lovesick'

  1. i love this album

  2. Jeremiah Holdsworth says:

    I give this a 4. Such a great worship album!

  3. Yorik Bruhl says:

    I trust them and will buy this asap.

  4. its a great album, but I still love their first album the most

  5. Smacky X says:

    I’m commenting “late” on this one but I just picked it up last weekend.

    I am surprised they were described as having a “large sound.” To me these guys have always set them selves apart by embodying a “small sound.” They are talented, and exhibit some creativity, but their strength is in Crist’s lyrics and in the willingness to keep things raw and simple (which I think prevents anything else from detracting from the lyric and sentiment of the songs…

    I think 3 is a fair score, and agree that this is “more of the same” from them. My first listen, when I wasn’t keying in on the lyrics, I got kind of bored. Listen #2, when I allowed the words to sink in, made me appreciate the album a lot.

Comments closed.