Album Review :
Thrice - The Alchemy Index Vols. I & II (Fire and Water)

By in Reviews | Comments closed

Artist: Thrice
Album: The Alchemy Index: Vols I & II (Fire and Water)
Label: Vagrant Records
Release Date: October 16, 2007
Review By: Wilhelm

Fire EP
1. Firebreather
2. The Messenger
3. Backdraft
4. The Arsonist
5. Burn the Fleet
6. The Flame Deluge

Water EP
1. Digital Sea
2. Open Water
3. Lost Continent
4. Night Diving
5. The Whaler
6. Kings Upon the Main

The newest release from Thrice, The Alchemy Index Vols. 1&2: Fire and Water, is a beautiful work of musicianship and artistic flare that most any music enthusiast could appreciate.  The release consists of two concept EPs, one revolving around fire and the other water.  Twelve songs later, this album is worth every bit of your hard earned (or stolen) money it costs.

As far as a concept album goes, Thrice does an incredibly beautiful job of exemplifying the concepts through lyricism, intensity, and all around musical ability.  For the Fire EP, the band puts out the most aggressive, incendiary (pun intended) post-hardcore sounds yet.  Lyrically, the Fire EP focuses on the destructive and explosive nature of fire in a way that is easily applicable to life.  The band throws in violently distorted guitars to build upon the angst and emotion of the Fire EP.

In the Water EP, Thrice’s music vastly changes to reflect the immense difference in concept.  Thrice changes from being beautifully violent and destructive to producing an ethereal, atmospheric masterpiece.  Musically, the guitars become immensely melodic and hint at a heavy post rock influence.  Digitally enhanced sound effects flood the aquatic songs, creating music that is spacious and extremely relaxed.  Lyrically, the Water EP changes to reflect the distant and limitless feel of an ocean.  Vocally, Thrice does an amazing job at changing the singing from a blistering yell to a spacious and calm whisper.

Regardless of musical taste or attitude toward Thrice, volumes 1 and 2 of The Alchemy Index are exceedingly abundant in beauty and talent.  Throughout the contrasting ideals of the Fire and Water EPs, Thrice still manages to maintain the fortitude of their beautiful sound.  New and old fans alike can appreciate this release immensely.  The best part about this album is that volumes 3 and 4 will be coming soon after this release, the elements being Earth and Air.  This album can be bought practically anywhere that quality music is sold.



[addthis tool="addthis_inline_share_toolbox_bpvj"]
%d bloggers like this: