Album Review :
sosaveme - A Ghost at Sea

By in Reviews | Comments closed

Artist: sosaveme

Album: A Ghost at Sea

Label: none

Reviewer: Rebecca Cicione


  1. A Ghost at Sea
  2. The Death of Adam
  3. From the Surface
  4. Colossus
  5. Interlude
  6. Lullabies
  7. The Crafty Harlot
  8. Love Take Part 1
  9. Love Take Part 2
  10. The Sea
  11. Hallelujah

“Over the years, we have realized that all we could ever offer anyone was honesty. This was evident in our music, relationships, and our lives. The music stemming from sosaveme is a reflection of our passion to share what lies within our hearts- whether it be the good or the bad that resides in them. It is this kind of honesty that unites us to those who listen to our music.”

The above quote is an accurate portrayal of sosaveme’s music. Their songwriting is honest and transparent, and paired with well-crafted music. They wrote A Ghost at Sea as a complete project, not merely as songs to fill the length of a CD. Every single track is filled with a contagious passion.

The title track serves as an excellent introduction and opening to this musical and spiritual journey. The heavy guitars give a sense of urgency as the lead vocals and harmony plead to “be a ghost at sea.” The band then seamlessly transitions to “Death of Adam” without leaving the listener with a single second to wonder what’s coming next. “From the Surface” has almost an anthemic feeling and is once again placed perfectly to complement the previous song as he sings, “Wake up my bones, wake up my son.”

Even the six-minute long “Lullabies” doesn’t seem a second too long and in fact passes by rather quickly. “Oh God, oh God how can you look down in love when you know what I’m thinking?” The chorus intensely rises to its climax and quickly falls to give the listener a moment to reflect on what he or she just experienced. ”Oh where, oh where did our hearts end up? Did we give them away when we should lift them up?” This one really showcases their talent, aggression and passion.

“The Crafty Harlot” describes what seems to be the immoral woman mentioned in Proverbs 7. “There was a man who once passed by open gates, to a path that led to a house where this woman could not stay…Her house was the way to hell, descending down to death,” sings lead vocalist Nicholas Pidek. “That man is me,” he says as the song fades, “and I want to change. Just give me strength to make my bed and walk away.”

The upbeat “Colossus” places emphasis on their technical skills. Fast forward a few more and you’ll find “Hallelujah.” This closing track is a rather fitting end to the journey. The peaceful lead vocals, steady drum beat and accompanying choir voices allow the listener to naturally shift to a state of worship.

sosaveme is a gem. Their brutally honest songwriting will resonate with listeners and music critiques will find their sound to be more than arguably good. Nick, along with Jonathan Moore (drums/vocals) and Justin Ozanich (guitar, bow, aux percussion) created a genre spanning record that I’m sure will soon be on repeat for many IVM readers. Fans of My Epic should definitely check them out.

%d bloggers like this: