Album Review :
Ever Stays Red - On the Brink of It All

By in Reviews | Comments closed

Artist: Ever Stays Red
Album: On the Brink of It All
Label: VSR Music Group (EMI)
Release Date: April 29, 2008
Review by: Eric Pettersson

1. Rocks & Reeds
2. On the Brink of It All
3. To Shine for You
4. Can’t Explain
5. Run
6. Love So Loud
7. Bright Eyes
8. Life in the Fire
9. Glorious
10. Say What You Will
11. Look to the Hills
12. Letters

Despite a lead guitar riff during the intro track that is way too reminiscent of a certain sweet child of mine, On the Brink of It All actually shows to be one enjoyable record. Stylistically, it sounds like a cross between Snow Patrol and David Crowder Band. A good rock energy is maintained pretty much throughout the entire record, and there are no songs worth skipping. Based on the bands Ever Stays Red are marketed alongside, I was expecting another generic piece of CCM mediocrity, but what I found instead was a solid modern/alternative rock album worthy of attention. The spiritual content is certainly present but never cheesy, and the music is creative and original. No rip-offs here. I especially like singer Dustin Carlson’s voice and the vocal harmonies created by guitarist Zach Andresen. It comes across and passionate and developed, a combination that is sadly a little rare these days.


Official Site

[addthis tool="addthis_inline_share_toolbox_bpvj"]