Album Review :
Britt Nicole - Gold

By in Reviews | Comments closed

Artist: Britt Nicole
Title: Gold
Label: Sparrow Records
Release Date: 3/26/12
Reviewer: Jonathan Andre


  1. Gold
  2. All This Time
  3. Look Like Love
  4. Who You Say You Are
  5. Ready or Not
  6. Breakthrough
  7. Stand
  8. The Sun is Rising
  9. Amazing Life
  10. Still that Girl
  11. Seeing for the First Time
  12. Amazing Life (Capital Kings Remix)
  13. Straight for Your Heart

Ever since I heard the song ‘You’ back in 2007, by the artist Britt Nicole, I was sure that she would go far. Her lyrics about surrender, pain, hurt and hope, together with the raw honesty and vulnerability of her testimony and how she declined university because she felt the Lord moving her to the music industry; has made her to be a role model to look up to for teenagers and young people everywhere. As Britt Nicole revealed her 3rd studio album, titled Gold, on the 26th March, I was astonished at how she was able to better her previous efforts of Say It, and The Lost Get Found. This album speaks about how we are all priceless to the God of the universe; that He has been with us since the dawn of time; and how with Him by our side, no matter what comes against us, we will overcome them with the King of Kings by our side.

‘Gold’, the album opener, is a feel good dance track, and is one of my highlights for the album. With lyrics like ‘…this, this is for all the girls, boys all over the world, whatever you’ve been told, you’re worth more than gold…’; what’s not to love about this song? This is for everyone, not just those who are struggling about who they are in Christ. We all need a daily reminder that God bought us with a price. We are precious to Him, and we are unquestionably worth more to Him than anything in the world. Jesus came to die for us; that’s how much He believes we are worth. It is love that He came, and with this in mind, we are kings and queens, ‘…so don’t be ashamed to wear your crown, you’re a king, you’re a queen, inside and out…’ What a savoring thought that we are sons and daughters of the High King.

The first radio single, ‘All This Time’ is a standout track on Gold, with the message that Jesus has been there ‘…all this time from the first tear cry till today’s sunrise and every single moment between…’ and how He never leaves us on our own. ‘Look like Love’, another dance track, speaks about how we as Christians can sometimes feel like we’re ‘…just rushing through life, like you don’t have time for your friends and the world outside…’ The lyrics later speak that all the rushing around is keeping us from ‘looking’ like love, that we as a society are worrying about things that will not have any eternal significance. I can admit that sometimes I keep up with the craze, and this song has really let myself think about intentionally slowing down so that we can ‘look like love’ and lead people to Christ.

A duet with rap hip-hop artist Lecrae, ‘Ready or Not’ has resonated with me since I heard it. Speaking about the topic of evangelism, the use of rap, beat-box and vocal distortion has created a song that speaks about how ‘…I tried to cover my shine, [how] I’ve tried stayin’ in the lines…’ Society’s talk of evangelism negative, and often frowned upon. With the world moving to a more religious-tolerant society, we are told to stay and ‘…fit in your box…’, and if we decide to move outside this, we are seen to be religious, not accepting of our ‘fellow brothers and sisters of different religions’. However, we know that if the love of Christ is within us, we cannot hide it from the world, and should do everything we can to see people come to Christ. Initially I was intrigued to see how Britt could work with Lecrae; but after hearing this song, Lecrae’s rap fits right into the song. A similar theme to the Steven Curtis Chapman’s ‘Live out Loud’, this song speaks of taking the message ‘…all over the world, to the young, to the old, every boy and girl…’ If we’re hesitant, then after listening to this song we won’t be.

‘Still That Girl’ is, from my own listen, one of the most personal songs Britt has ever recorded. Speaking about a friend of hers, one who was young and free, but then things happened and ‘…life took a turn and you fell and it hurt…’; Britt pours her heart out to her. This may be for girls, but I found myself being drawn to it, for it’s raw emotion and honesty, but also for it’s universal appeal. Britt reminds her friend that ‘…sometimes life don’t go the way you planned, and we all have days when we just don’t understand…’ However, this is not the end, as Britt says with her next breath, ‘…your story’s not over, it’s still being told…’ This is a song of hope, reminding us that our lives may not make any sense at the moment, but it is not over. With Jesus with us, our lives are so much more refreshing and hopeful, even in situations where there may be none.

The bonus ‘iTunes only’ song, ‘Straight for Your Heart’, caught me unawares. Singing from the Lord’s point of view, Jesus is coming ‘…straight for your heart, I’m bringing light to the dark, it’s gonna catch like a flame, everything’s about to change…’ We are never too far for His grace, and like the prodigal son returning to the father; Jesus says that we are like the son, and He is the father. In the parable, the father accepts the son straight away, and this is what Jesus does for us. Jesus is our spark, and as Britt sings, ‘…you’re never too far…’ God brings light and hope, and Britt reassures us that we ‘…don’t have to walk this world alone…’ God will always be there, holding us together.

The rest of the album speaks about themes that apply to everyone. Both ‘The Sun is Rising’ and ‘Who You Say You Are’ speak about trusting and relying on God even when we can’t see everything that is in front of us. The electronic ‘Breakthrough’ imparts to listeners that we need to break away from the lies that Satan has been binding us to. Encountering God for the first time is another message prevalent in ‘Seeing for the First Time’, and ‘Amazing Life’ shows us what a wonderful world we live in, also giving praise to the God who created it.  Each and every track has something special to present, and through this record, I was able to reflect in the knowledge that I am priceless in God’s sight.

Overall: This is a terrific album, no dull points. Every song is a reminder that we are precious to God, that He will do anything for us to be with Him. These 13 songs have reminded me that He is always there in the midst of life, shaping and molding us into the people that He wants us to be. This album incorporates dance, pop, ballads, rap, and every other genre. This album is for everyone, to be reminded that we don’t walk this world alone. Jesus is with us every step of the way and what a sobering thought this is! Isn’t that worth more than all the gold we can have? We are kings and queens of the most High God; let us claim who we are in Christ.

RIYL: Krystal Meyers, Stellar Kart, ZoeGirl, Rachael Lampa

Buy the Album: iTunes/Amazon mp3