Reconcile – Abandoned Hope

By JoshLLR on April-30-2012 | Filed under Www.homework.

Reconcile – Abandoned Hope
Score: 2/5Score: 2/5Score: 2/5Score: 2/5Score: 2/52
4.4 (21 votes)

Artist: Buy Resume For Writer Virginia Beach.
Title: Abandoned Hope
Label: Buy Comparison Essay.
Release Date: 3/23/12
Reviewer: Josh Burkey


  1. Abandoned Hope (Intro)
  2. Never Would Have Made It
  3. Hold Us Down ft. Thi’sl
  4. U Rydin It ft. Corey Paul and Pro
  5. One Step Closer
  6. Give It to Them ft Dre Murray, Corey Paul and Lapo
  7. Teenage Mother ft. Stephanie Wilson
  8. He Rose
  9. Ride ft. Canon and Corey Paul
  10. 10 20 LIFE
  11. Say It Wit Yo Chest (Upside Down Me)
  12. Ooo You ft. Corey Paul
  13. Never Stops ft. 007 & Corey Paul
  14. What Will It Take From Me
  15. Take Off ft. Corey Paul
  16. Light Up the World

It’s never easy bringing out a debut record or being new to an established scene. It will always be a rough ride. This brings us to the debut album from Christian rapper, Reconcile. The album is Abandoned Hope. It has a very strong start, however falls off very quickly. The album features quite a lineup of impressive guest rappers including Thi’sl, Pro, Corey Paul and more. The album opens up on “Abandoned Hope (Intro).” The listener can expect to get very pumped for this rest of this album, just by this one song. Reconcile offers something in this song we don’t see much in the Christian rap scene nowadays. Towards the end of this song, we hear what sounds like an invitation call to come to Christ. He is standing his ground early on in the album. This is done in such a beautiful way to, I might add.

The album continues with “Never Would Have Made It”. Unfortunately, this track features a very out of place gospel singer. It demonstrates to the listener that Reconcile is dedicated to wanting to experiment. Unfortunately, this track doesn’t demonstrate it well. The biggest letdown of this album is perhaps, the organization of the songs. I know it sounds weird but in listening to Hope you’ll understand why. Reconcile takes all the high energy songs and presents them first to the listener. Takes a lot of the slower songs, the ballads in this sense and puts them towards the end of the album. Which is unfortunate because by the time the listener gets to the 11th track, they’re hyped up and then let down. This serves almost as boredom for the listener.

This record however does hold its own with some gems that do show Reconcile’s diversity. Including a string bridge on the track, “Hold Us Down”, which also features label mate Thi’sl. The group effort on “Give It to Em”, reminds the listener of Lecrae’s “116 Clique”. This is a very impressive song and definite highlight for Hope. Reconcile clearly has a passion that any new listener can hear. No track showcases this better than “Say It Wit Yo Chest (Upside Down Me)”. In the book of Acts, Peter is crucified. He tells them, he is not worthy to be crucified right side up because he wasn’t worthy to die the same death Jesus died. So, he is crucified upside down. This is exactly the subject matter of “Say It Wit Yo Chest (Upside Down Me).” His boldness and faith is so heavily overwhelming on this track, it leaves the listener actually wanting the song to be longer.

I have no idea why it has become so customary in Christian Rap culture to start to dedicate a song to your wife. Of course, Reconcile is on this current craze on the song, “Ooo You (ft. Corey Paul)”. Every song that I’ve come into contact with that deals with this subject in Christian rap market is always very corny. This song is no different: cheesy lyrics but still holds a very solid beat to serve as his undertone.

The biggest highlight of this album is oddly enough a stripped down piano ballad. “What Will It Take From Me” completely just bares the soul of Reconcile. Featuring beautifully harmonized R&B vocals and intensely passionate rapping, this track shows how much Reconcile is really capable of.

OVERALL:  Abandoned Hope has its gems including “What Will It Take From Me”, “Say It Wit Yo Chest (Upside Down Me)” and “Abandoned Hope (Intro)”. The album offers glimpses of his abilities and capabilities as an artist, but feels like it often falls short. It almost feels like it is an attempt to make more of a one-sided album versus exploring how far he can diversify him as an artist. The organization of songs makes this album lose points just for the way that it is presented. I don’t think it was a good idea to make all the fast songs come first and end on slow songs. This album is definitely worth checking out! Reconcile definitely has talents to become a big name in this game, just needs to diversify himself as an artist and learn to experiment in the future.

RIYL: T-Bone, Tedashii, Sho Baraka, Thi’sl

Reconcile - Abandoned Hope, 4.4 out of 5 based on 21 ratings Write An Essay Service.

About the author JoshLLR

I'm a complex individual. I'd watch cartoons in my spare time. I'm a metalhead but listen to artists like V.Rose, & Lecrae. My heart belongs to the field of missions and carrying out the Great Commission, Jesus gave us in Matt. 28 is my destiny. I am a ministry director of the suicide prevention music ministry, Love Like Rain. This is and IVM are just the beginning steps to moving the kingdom. View all posts by JoshLLR

13 Responses to 'Reconcile – Abandoned Hope'

  1. JoshIVM says:

    This album is impressive & offers something different in the Christian rap genre, as there are few albums (if any) that have a similar sound. This album shows off tons of potential, as you mentioned, but I agree could have used some better arrangement of the tracks. The last 5 songs do slow things down quite a bit & listeners might tend to skip #15 which would be a mistake. The first 4-5 tracks are pretty solid start in comparison with other Christian rap albums & stays on track through #11. I do completely disagree on the single, “Never Would Have Made It” though. To me, it’s a standout track.

    Reconcile is definitely one to watch out for. Looking forward to new ones from Thi’sl & AD3 from this label as well.

  2. Kurtis says:

    I disagree in regards to “Never Would Have Made It”. It is a near perfect track. The gospel singer adds a great tone to the song and makes Reconcile’s grit even grittier!

  3. mr. zer0 says:

    I gotta admit I stopped listening to crunk and a lot of down south rap when it blew up back n the days…but man, this album is fire! AND IT’S FREE!

  4. That’s the beauty of American law. That everyone is entitled to their opinion. Thanks for the input though.

  5. Yeah I would have to disagree with the review also. This is an awesome debut, and I love “Never Would Have Made It.”

  6. Irish Rover says:

    I agree with the reviewer. This album just did not do it for me. And yes, “Ooo You” is corny. This album had some decent beats but I felt that Reconcile’s flow wasn’t too hot. If you’re looking for quality christian hip-hop on noisetrade you can’t do better than High Society Collective.

  7. platypusguy says:

    I gotta say, I’m really into Hold Us Down. But most of the rest of the album is too synthy-808y for my taste.

  8. I personally loved “never would have made it” the rest of the album I just was not feeling too much…

    I need to give it a better listen but that was the only song that captured my attention in my initial scanning through the songs, so it’s the only one I listen to.

Comments closed.