Jenny & Tyler – Faint Not

By Eric Pettersson on March-18-2011 | Filed under Buying Essays Online.

Jenny & Tyler – Faint Not
Score: 4/5Score: 4/5Score: 4/5Score: 4/5Score: 4/54
4.3 (7 votes)

Artist: Catering Services Thesis Introduction.

Album: Faint Not

Label: None

Release Date: November 30, 2010

Reviewer: Eric Pettersson


  1. Song for You
  2. This Is Just So Beautiful
  3. Dreaming of Peace
  4. Faint Not
  5. Psalm 46
  6. Holding on to Hope
  7. Carry Me (featuring Mac Powell)
  8. Through Your Eyes
  9. As Long As Our Hearts Are Beating
  10. Anchored in Love

Jenny Somers claims to be making these songs with her husband “Tyler Somers,” but I think she’s lying and it’s actually either Jack Johnson or Coldplay’s Chris Martin in disguise, because his voice goes back and forth between sounding almost exactly like these two dudes. Fun comparisons aside, Tyler has a great voice that combines with his wife Jenny’s to guide this gentle but passionate folk album through forty-five minutes of me saying, “This is so good! How have I never heard of them before?”

This Nashville-based couple takes a little country, a little indie rock, a little pop, and a whole lot of folk, blending it with deep love and vibrant spirituality. They talk about finding our identity, confidence, and true love in God while walking through all parts of life. There is a delicate tremble of passion in Jenny’s voice, which compliments Tyler’s strong and solid (but very relaxed) vocals. At times they plead with God for strength (“Holding on to Hope,” “Carry Me”) or call out society for ignoring social injustice (“Faint Not”), but in general the record is very positive and uplifting, always emphasizing a way forward with God. Speaking of “Carry Me,” Third Day’s Mac Powell makes an appearance over the bridge that only adds to the incredible quality and feeling conveyed in these songs. Faint Not holds an interesting balance between being chill and relaxed on one hand and pouring out with emotion on the other. It ends with Jenny & Tyler’s reworking of “Anchored in Love Divine,” a song originally written in 1911 by James D Vaughan, one of the pioneers of Southern Gospel. It sounds great, and lyrics work perfectly to bring everything together and conclude the themes of the entire album.

Overall: Jenny & Tyler play songs that are relaxing, yet full of passion. They use these folk rock tunes to sing of the need for our lives to be centered in a relationship with God, and they do so with depth of experience and wisdom. Recommended for fans of The Civil Wars, Caedmon’s Call, and Mumford & Sons.

Jenny & Tyler - Faint Not, 4.3 out of 5 based on 7 ratings

Help Essay.

About the author Eric Pettersson

Eric Pettersson is from Reading, PA and a graduate of La Salle University in Philadelphia with degrees in Communication and Religion. He wrote regularly for IVM 2005-2011. Now he has his own website, Explore Reading, "a progressive guide to the city of Reading, Pennsylvania. Follow him at View all posts by Eric Pettersson

5 Responses to 'Jenny & Tyler – Faint Not'

  1. KeithX says:

    I’m downloading this from as I type. Available for only a week.

  2. I need to grab this from Noisetrade asap. First comment on the new server!!!

  3. thruchristalone777 says:

    This is a really good album.

  4. Wow, this is a brilliant album. Far better than I anticipated.

  5. KeithX says:

    Second listen, the music reminds me of Matt Kearney in places when Tyler is singing. The only thing that I’m not digging is Jenny’s use of vibrato, which seems excessive IMO. I think she sounds better just keeping a steady frequency. Of course, that’s just a matter of taste. ;)

Comments closed.