Kevin Schlereth – Don’t Die! Please Stop Dying

By Joshua Hedlund on October-20-2012 | Filed under Help Editing Dissertation.

Kevin Schlereth – Don’t Die! Please Stop Dying
Score: 3/5Score: 3/5Score: 3/5Score: 3/5Score: 3/53
4.3 (10 votes)

Artist: Online Kannada Essay.
Title: Don’t Die! Please Stop Dying
Label: independent
Release Date: 10/19/12
Reviewer: Joshua Hedlund


  1. Tornadoes
  2. Sunshine
  3. Knox
  4. Give Us To Jesus
  5. Natural Causes
  6. Don’t Die (but it’s whatever)
  7. Knocks
  8. Possessions
  9. Rent

Kevin Schlereth is an acoustic musician from the Midwest who gathered a few friends to present this collection of nine honest songs for your listening pleasure.

Kevin often plays solo at shows, but this album is much more than simply a dude strumming on his guitar. If you listen closely, you might hear a banjo, an accordion, and maybe a mandolin throughout the album. There are occasionally accents of light percussion, though most of the time Kevin uses his guitar to guide the rhythm with a crafted combination of riffs and chords.

Several songs feature female vocal accompaniment from the members of Do My Homework Services. . Live strings also add to the sonic landscape; a cello provides some moving rhythm on “Knox,” and a violin has a beautiful interlude in the homonymic “Knocks.”

Sometimes the vibe reminds me a bit of a slightly less polished version of The Swell Season – the way the layers and vocals combine into a moving, repeated groove at the end of a song, the way a soft female vocal appears in a quiet interlude, the way the acoustic guitar relentlessly pushes a song forward. Some songs have more of an indie folk vibe, but there are a couple with a bit of a catchy pop feel.

Kevin’s lyrical themes involve reflections on living a godly, eternally-minded life in modern society. The opening lines cry out, “Humanity obsesses over itself / Knowledge puffs up.” Often challenging, the lyrics are believable because they are personal, yet encouraging because they also reveal hope. A good example is “Knox,” where Kevin sings about having a heart that’s “immunized” to “the things that you do,” ending with a prayerful cry to “soften our hearts, Lord.”

“Possessions” casually explores the snares of materialism: “Wake up / Put my sneakers on / Walk through the house / Dodging all this stuff / I spent my life accumulating”. A repeatedly dropped bucket of junk adds a clever, metaphorical percussive accent.

“Don’t Die” mourns the passing of time and its revelation of “human frailty.” “Knocks” cleverly mingles the story of the Three Little Pigs with the Biblical image of Jesus standing at the door and knocking, and there are a few other references mixed in as well.

Overall: Some people may not enjoy the raw indie sound; sometimes Kevin’s vocals are slightly uneven or unclear. It’s also a little short with nine songs at just over thirty minutes. For the most part, though, Don’t Die! Please Stop Dying is a solid release, displaying Kevin Schlereth’s talents both in songwriting and in orchestrating the multitudinous accompanying layers of vocals and instruments. Head over to Graduate Admission Essay Help Good College. and see what you think.

RIYL: The Swell Season, Josh Garrels, Luke Parker

Kevin Schlereth - Don't Die! Please Stop Dying, 4.3 out of 5 based on 10 ratings Law School Admission Essay Review.

About the author Joshua Hedlund

I like listening to music and trying to promote the stuff I like ( Cours De Dissertation Historique. ), and sometimes I play piano and try to write stuff (I just picked up the accordion!). I married my lovely bride Emily in October 2010. We want to be a RYFO house one day but for now just support bands through going to shows and doing interviews and whatever else we can! View all posts by Joshua Hedlund

9 Responses to 'Kevin Schlereth – Don’t Die! Please Stop Dying'

  1. Help With Writing My Essay. says:

    If this is raw, I don’t even know what clean sounds like. Haven’t heard anything this creative and well put together all year.

  2. Cover Letter Master Thesis. says:

    Josh you’ve been hiding too long. I guess I’ve been hiding too though. Life gets too busy at times. I downloaded the album and I’m going to listen to it tomorrow. It sounds good! :)

  3. this sounds pretty neat

  4. Thanks for the kind words and for the appreciation of the album title. Keep in touch, let’s be community.

  5. Custom Writing Com watch. says:

    I liked this pretty well. It wasn’t extremely groundbreaking in my opinion, but this guy IS going places. I will have to pay attention to whatever he puts out in the future.

  6. Navybrat says:

    Kevin is also an awesome performer. more people should see him. MORE. people want honesty and he gives it

    Keep it real!

  7. this album is kevin’s best, imo – everything is spot on. honest music, thoughtful instrumentation, and creative songwriting.

Comments closed.