I Built The Cross – Banish The Disconnect

By Taylor C. on August-6-2012 | Filed under http://context.upc.es/index.php?oreo-cookie-admissions-essay Oreo Cookie Admissions Essay.

I Built The Cross – Banish The Disconnect
Score: 4/5Score: 4/5Score: 4/5Score: 4/5Score: 4/54
4.5 (4 votes)

Artist: http://www.padr.ufrpe.br/sites/padr.ufrpe.br/files/index.php?cheap-dissertation-writing-guide Cheap Dissertation Writing Guide.
Title: Banish The Disconnect (EP)
Label: Independent
Release Date: June 15, 2012
Reviewer: Taylor C.


  1. Author
  2. Banish The Disconnect
  3. Human Predicament Part 1: Godless Cosmos
  4. Human Predicament Part 2: Foundations
  5. Imposter Christ

If you’re anything like me, you might have already dismissed I Built The Cross as a generic Christian deathcore band. Personally, I never could get into their last few releases (which, up until now, included one single, one EP, and one full length), because both the music and production quality was about as bland as it gets. However (and this is a massive however), I Built The Cross has really stepped up their game with Banish The Disconnect. This EP, in essence, is a 360-degree turn for the band that presents a solid, unyielding dosage of technicality to the world of deathcore.

Since this is an extended-play that maintains such a brutal pace, there isn’t much I can say about the individual tracks except that, unlike past releases, the uniqueness and production quality is excellent. Each song delivers the same level of musical viciousness through low riffs, sweeping technical guitar licks, impressive blast beats, clear bass lines, well-placed breakdowns, and vocals varying from guttural roars to demonic highs. Granted, components like breakdowns and blast beats aren’t anything new, but after the band throws their own distinctive sound into the mix and shuffles the ingredients around, they succeed in creating something mature, memorable and exciting. The only “problem” I have with the release is the fact that it’s an EP. I would love to see a full length from these guys that exercises the talent shown here.

The lyrics on Banish The Disconnect are are also worth mentioning. Like a lot of writers in the metal genre, they can be vague and confusing at times, but, for the most part, IBTC is straightforward in their spirituality, and confident in theological doctrine—communicating their lyrical content through poetic metaphors and concrete imagery that crunches along with the bulky weight of the music.

Overall: Depending on your view, I Built The Cross has either “finally got it right” or has really grown as a band. Regardless, this is an EP worth listening to. Long-time fans should instantly love Banish The Disconnect, and, likewise, past haters like myself will be surprised to find a breath of fresh air in a world full of generic metal. The production is crystal-clear, the lyrics are poetically theological, and the music itself is nearly flawless in technical brutality. Here’s to the hope that they can release a full-length with the same amount of power. And until then, sell some plasma and Essay Teaching Techniques. .

RIYL: A Thousand Times Repent, As They Sleep, Behold The Kingdom, Bloodline Severed, Chelsea Grin, Disfiguring The Goddess, Impending Doom, Meshuggah, The Faceless, Unto The Beast, With Blood Comes Cleansing

I Built The Cross - Banish The Disconnect, 4.5 out of 5 based on 4 ratings

Economic Terms Paper.

About the author Taylor C.

"I read, much of the night, and go south in the winter." —T.S. Eliot View all posts by Taylor C.

6 Responses to 'I Built The Cross – Banish The Disconnect'

  1. 1. I didnt even know this was out yet, they need 2 promote beta.
    2. Wat otha ep do they hav?
    3. I thot the ful length was gud, just the production was off.
    4. I wil get this asap.

  2. thruchristalone777 says:

    I agree with the score. They did an excellent job on this one when compared to everything else they have released. I’m looking foward to any future releases that they put out.

    Phil, they actually had an ep that was released prior to their full length forever ago. As far as the new ep goes, definitely get it. You won’t be dissapointed.

Comments closed.