Sovereign Strength – Reflections

By Steve on February-22-2010 | Filed under Writing Essay Papers.

Sovereign Strength – Reflections
Score: 3/5Score: 3/5Score: 3/5Score: 3/5Score: 3/53
4.2 (5 votes)

Artist: Silvestre Pinho Phd Thesis.
Album: Reflections
Label: Quest Online Physics Homework Answers.
Release Date: February 23, 2010
Review By: Steve
Track Listing:
1. Introduction
2. Heartless
3. The Suffering
4. Half and Half
5. In The Mirror
6. Deliverance
7. Your Words Are Poison
8. The Outcome
9. War On This World
10. Consume
11. Revelation 22:21

Finally some BRUTAL hardcore! I was getting really bored with most of the melodic hardcore I was being force-fed. “Melodic—Schmelodic” just give me some friggin’ raw, brutal hardcore and lots of it, and I will be one happy person. I like some clean vocals every now and then, but give me a break with every band and their mother trying to throw in some clean vocals and still trying to be brutal at the same time. Clean vocals and brutal hardcore can and will never coexist on the same album in my opinion.

Sovereign Strength is a four-piece hardcore band out of Southern California, and another great pick up for MediaSkare Records. I almost want to say they are “un-melodic” hardcore because there are no clean vocals on this album nor does it need it. OK, I will get off my “melodic” soapbox now. Vocalist Jordan King has some excellent hardcore pipes and does not disappoint. The vocals on this album are brutal from start to finish. Lyrically, Sovereign Strength sings about many experiences that we as Christians encounter from fear in “Half & Half,” to overcoming your past in “In The Mirror,” and my personal favorite song “Consume” that deals with alcoholism. I like “Consume” because it is one of the hardest songs on Reflections and the choice words Sovereign Strength uses in it, “You tried the true American way, to drink out your senses, we wonder where the love went, the same place your drink did. The pisser.” Instead of beating around the bush or barely scratching the surface of Christianity, Sovereign Strength tackles today’s problems head on without remorse.

Musically, Sovereign Strength is heavy on the double bass pedal with lots of heavy breakdowns and your classic hardcore stop and break beats. This is the type of album that will definitely make you want to get up and starts doing some windmills like you are trying to pick some change up off the floor. I have never understood the hardcore dancers that punch and spin kick the air, but after listening to Sovereign Strength I kind of start to get the idea behind it. From bass, guitar, to drums; Sovereign Strength has it covered.

Overall: Sovereign Strength may be one of the better bands you have never heard of. Their music comes at you hard and with intensity, and they breathe some fresh air into a genre being taken over by melodic wannabes. This album is extremely brutal and will please hardcore fans. Do yourself a favor and go check these guys out on MySpace and support their music. The album is not flawless but is a very solid debut that you wont be disappointed in.

Sovereign Strength - Reflections, 4.2 out of 5 based on 5 ratings

How Can I Start My Personal Statement.

About the author Steve

Originally, from Albuquerque, NM but now I live in the Minneapolis area. I love Metal and Hardcore but I can tolerate pretty much anything. Albums I couldn't live without: Any Living Sacrifice album with Bruce on vocals, INXS - Kick, and AC/DC - Back in Black View all posts by Steve

18 Responses to 'Sovereign Strength – Reflections'

  1. Solid review, I’ll have to check the band out. For the time being I can say they are #1 on the year for sweetest album artwork though. I don’t know why but I really love it.

  2. Research Papers In Sociology. says:

    Yeah I really like the artwork as well

  3. Phil Recognition says:

    I think that “melodic-schmelodic” is my new favorite phrase haha. I got it last night, solid indeed. Good review

  4. Literature Review Web Services. says:

    Good review bro!
    I too loved “melodic-schmelodic”, but I loved “Stop being force-fed melodic hardcore and try a bite of some real hardcore” from the main page even more!


  5. i couldn’t find anyone selling the cd! Talk about bad marketing.

  6. If this is brutal hardcore, then what do you call xSleeping Giantx, Call To Preserve, xDeathstarx or even Saving Grace ?

    This record is actually quite musical, like the outros on Heartless and Half And Half.

    I’m a bit frustrated because i got this record after reading this review and well it’s not quite how it’s described. Though it is no emopop, of course, it’s not that brutal.

  7. bob says:

    I bet you didnt even buy it either did you jeremie

  8. Vicente Gonz says:

    hey i was wondering who are the guest vocals (if any) on The War On This World and on Consume???

  9. allf says:

    the guy who does guest vocals on war on this world is the vocalist(jordan) best friend his name is freddy he was in a band called amenza a skacore band

  10. shawnfdf says:

    Ive been trying to figure out where the intro is from, can you help me out?

Comments closed.