The Glorious Unseen – How He Loves EP

By Stephen M on July-15-2009 | Filed under Buy Adobe Photoshop Student.

The Glorious Unseen – How He Loves EP
Score: 4/5Score: 4/5Score: 4/5Score: 4/5Score: 4/54
5.0 (2 votes)

Artist: The Glorious Unseen
Album: How He Loves EP
Label: Tooth and Nail/Bec Recordings
Reviewer: Stephen M

  1. All Around
  2. How He Loves
  3. Heavy Hearted

When was the last time you saw a movie sequel that was any good? (Wasn’t Transformers II bad!?) Well we are weeks away The Glorious Unseen’s second full release and they have come out with a 3-track EP titled “How He Loves”. This EP gives us a great taste of what we can expect from the new full released CD – worship music at it’s best.

These three songs are filled with passion, honesty, melody, and spirit. Musically it is very similar to their previous releases, yet with a more matured sound consisting of the sincere vocals of Ben, combined with light guitar strumming, the soft keys of a piano, and a variety of percussion.

The lyrics are almost depressing to a point… but in a good way.  They talk about our lost hope and how when we are at the breaking point there is always a good ending – God will meet us there. He will take our worries, He will pour out His mercy as we reach out to Him and He will hear us in our cries of desperation and we will look into His eyes and we will know that His love has no end. That was a paraphrase of what Ben is singing about in the song “All Around”. “How He Loves” is a John McMillan song that shows the spirit of the Lord working in every single word:

If grace is an ocean then we’re all sinking
Then Heaven meets Earth like a sloppy wet kiss
My heart turns violently inside of my chest
I don’t have time to maintain this regrets
When I think about the way he loves us

Heavy hearted is my favorite track on this EP, it has a very catchy chorus and it’s very easy to sing along. If I was musically inclined myself I would love to introduce these songs to my church because they each have a message that we as a community of believers need to hear.  Here are a few of the song’s lyrics:

When you take me as I am
It’s like the sunlight gracing the land
and when I feel heavy hearted
Please come and take my hand
Heavy hearted again
It’s so crazy
How You sustain me
When I am down in the dirt You come and claim me
Father Your burden is light, I need Your love tonight
I’m reaching out to You

The Glorious Unseen is one of the best worship bands out today, if not the best. The band works together to bring every bit of heartfelt desire, honesty and passion into these three songs to create an amazing preview for their full release that is coming out August 25th. This is sure to be one sequel that will not disappoint and may even “transform” a few lives.  Pun intended.

[ Nature Essays. ]

The Glorious Unseen - How He Loves EP, 5.0 out of 5 based on 2 ratings Write An Essay About Your Future.

26 Responses to 'The Glorious Unseen – How He Loves EP'

  1. Shawn H says:

    not gonna lie, this is one of the best worship EPs of 2009!

  2. It is! I can’t wait until the full album.. I’m so excited.

  3. sam30 says:


  4. Andy K says:

    Nice review Stephen! I might pick up the EP, but I’ll probably just wait for the full length to come out.

  5. Joshua K says:

    oh wow, such a good ep. excited for the full-length. the how he loves cover is amazing!

  6. Good Review, I’m really excited for the full length after hearing this ep. Oh, and thats the album artwork here’s the ep Writing For The Web.

  7. I bought it on iTunes and the artwork was just the same as the full CD, but I knew there was different artwork! Thank you so much for finding that.

  8. Brooks Ginnan says:

    Think I will pick it up on Amazon MP3 today! I wonder when the full album will be up to buy there(physical)?

  9. Carryn Purdon Dissertation. says:

    Brooks – You can pre-order the physical album right here: Dissertation Project Marketing Of Services.

    It’s 8 bucks, that’s a really good deal.

  10. Chris says:

    Love it! I agree… Heavy Hearted is my favorite too. Can’t wait for the full length to release. Love these dudes! They are definitely maturing as a group. They continue to define themselves musically with a very unique and powerful sound. Love it!

  11. BEC’s site linked this…thats pretty cool

  12. Brooks Ginnan says:

    I meant on amazon,i have a gift card that i was going to use on it and the new Silverline EP!

  13. Silverline… now you’re speaking my language.

  14. Kirk says:

    TGU linked this as the first review. Well done.
    Seriously wish i could afford this.
    Sad but true. Life of a student..

  15. says:

    Thanks. That’s awesome that they linked this. I’m pretty stoked about that.

  16. TylerM says:

    This is the first album I’ve bought in over a year. They are amazing.

  17. Scott.L says:

    Stephen – So I just got the full-length pre-release. I’m gonna assume that you did too and that you want dibs on the review. If you did… and do… let me know, it’s all yours. But it’s awesome!!

  18. Stephen M says:

    Yes, I did Scott. Yeah man, I want to do this review, thanks dude. I love TGU, first listen through is amazing!

  19. Tyler.H says:

    after forcing myself to listen to the full length a bunch…there are a couple of goods songs, the rest are vanilla ice cream, nothing too exciting, too calming for me, but i guess other people are into that, i want some oreos in there or somethin

  20. Stephen M says:

    There is a field full of oreo’s my man! This is my type of worship, I love this stuff.

  21. fusse says:

    how about you guys all do a review :) as stated before, it’s cool to have different reviews of the same album

  22. lee c says:

    who produced the new TGU disc?…I’ve been listening to the EP, definitely doesn’t sound like the Marc Byrd/Steve Hindalong production of “Tonight the Stars.”

    Huge fan of these guys…love how Ben approaches worship from a spirit of brokenness (really adds a sense of desperation and vulnerability to the songs.) I agree with Stephen, think “Heavy Hearted” is far and away the best of these three…

    Eagerly awaiting 8/25

  23. the caleb says:

    so stoked for the 25th. they played their version of how he loves when i opened for them earlier this month and the Spirit fell on the place in an intensive way. they truly worked it to be their own version of the song, which is rare with the much-covered piece. much of the time i get angry when a band covers the song, because they are once again taking away from the much-missed fact that john mark mcmillan penned the song, and thus shutting the gate for so many to get into his music–which is absolutely amazing. but TGU does it well, and they’re friends with john mark, so i didn’t mind it.

  24. Jaywall says:

    I’m a big fan of TGU and share your enthusiasm for this EP and the upcoming album. But I still want to inject a little more critical thinking into this discussion:

    1) When writing worship music, it’s wise to keep the focus on God or at least “us” and not always be about “I” or “me.”

    2) Stephen, you said the album is essentially about how “He will take our worries, He will pour out His mercy as we reach out to Him and He will hear us in our cries of desperation and we will look into His eyes and we will know that His love has no end.” If you’ve listened to their first album “Tonight the Stars Speak,” then you’ll see the same theme there.

  25. Stephen M says:

    Yeah, I do realize that is a recurring theme, however I think this EP and their upcoming new CD is even more honest and more harsh than their previous release. I agree with you though.

  26. berciXcore says:

    These guys are just… mindblowing:

Comments closed.